MAX Transportation Authority Board

The Board of Directors is comprised of representatives appointed by the City of Holland and Holland Charter Township, and an ex-officio member appointed by the City of Zeeland and one appointed by Park Township, which contract for bus services under service agreements with the Authority.

Board meetings are held at 3:30 p.m. the forth Monday of the month at MAX’s administrative office and main transfer center at the Padnos Center, 171 Lincoln Ave. in downtown Holland.   Constructed in 2013, MAX’s Operations Center is located at 11660 Greenway Drive in Holland Township.

MAX is funded primarily with federal and state funding, as well as a dedicated transit millage of 0.4 mills.  Passenger fares also provide about 6 percent of total revenue for operations.

MAX employs approximately 80 full and part time staff, and is managed by an Executive Director, who reports to the Board.

Macatawa Area Express Transportation Authority Board Meeting
Mon, Sep 28, 2020 3:30 PM – 4:30 PM (EDT)

Please join my meeting from your computer, tablet or smartphone.

You can also dial in using your phone.
United States (Toll Free): 1 866 899 4679
United States: +1 (571) 317-3116

Access Code: 623-302-253

MAX Transportation Authority Board Members

  • Russ TeSlaa – Chairman, Holland Charter Township
  • Joe Baumann – Vice Chairman, Holland Charter Township
  • Mike Trethewey – Secretary/Treasurer, City of Holland
  • Kristin Myers – Member, Disability Network/Lakeshore
  • Kevin Klynstra – Member, City of Zeeland
  • Tyler Kent – Member, MACC
  • Jim Gerard – Member, Park Township
  • Al Rios – Member, Holland Charter Township
  • Meika Weiss – Member, City of Holland

Max Staff

  • Elisa Hoekwater – Executive Director
  • Beth Higgs – Marketing/Customer Service Manager
  • Barbara Sonnerville – Customer Service/Finance Assistant